CME State Maps Physicians

Continuing Medical Education requirements vary for physicians from state to state. Click on your state below to see how we can help you meet your requirements.

 

Alabama

Licensing Cycle: 1 year

CME Amount Required: 25 annually

CME Types Required: AMA PRA Category 1

Further information - The Alabama Board of Medical Examiners and the Medical Licensure Commission of Alabama

Alaska

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 25 annually

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Further information - Alaska State Medical Board

Arizona

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 40 every 2 years

Further information - Arizona Medical Board

Arkansas

CME Amount Required 20 annually

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Further information - Arkansas State Medical Board

California

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required
MDs must earn 50 every two years
DOs must earn 150 every 3 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Specialty Credit Requirements

  • 12 Credit Hours in Pain management and care of the terminally ill (except for Pathologists and Radiologists)

    Earn credits toward this requirement with Emergency Medicine Reports:

    The 12 units may be divided in any way that is relevant to the physician's specialty and practice setting. Acceptable courses may address either topic individually or both topics together. For example, one physician might take three hours of "pain management education" and nine hours of "the appropriate care and treatment of the terminally ill;" a second physician might opt to take six hours of "pain management" and six hours of "the appropriate care and treatment of the terminally ill;" a third physician might opt to take one 12-hour course that includes both topics. The Medical Board will accept any combination of the two topics totaling 12 hours.

    Physicians must complete the mandated hours by their second license renewal date or within four years, whichever comes first.

  • California law requires that general internists and family physicians who have a patient population of which over 25 percent are 65 years of age or older, are required to complete at least 20 percent of their mandatory CME in the field of geriatric medicine.

    All other physicians are encouraged to take a course in geriatric medicine, including geriatric pharmacology, as part of their mandatory CME.

For other CME requirements, AHC offers a variety of Subscription Publications as well as Books & Study Guides to meet your needs.

Further information - The Medical Board of California

Colorado

CME Amount Required
Physicians: none
Physician Assistants must have 100 hours of CME within the past two years, including 25 hours of AMA PRA Category 1 CME within the past 12 months.

Further information - Colorado Medical Board

Connecticut

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 50 every 2 years

Specialty Credit Requirements

During the first renewal period in which continuing medical education is required and not less than once every six years thereafter, include at least one contact hour of training or education in each of the following topics:

AHC also offers a variety of Subscription Publications as well as Books & Study Guides to meet your continuing professional education needs.

Further information - Department of Public Health

Delaware

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 40 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Further information - Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline

District of Columbia

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 50 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Specialty Credit Requirements

Further information - Medical Society of the District of Columbia

Florida

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Type(s) Required
MDs: AMA PRA Category 1
DOs: Combination of AOA Category 1-A and AMA PRA Category 1 (see below)

Specialty Credit Requirements

Additional licensing requirement information:

For a licensee’s first renewal of licensure, one hour of the required CME must be in the topic of HIV/AIDS. In addition, for every third biennial renewal, licensees must have completed two hours of CME on the topic of Domestic Violence. The CME hours for each biennium must also include two hours relating to the prevention of medical errors. The remaining required CME hours may include risk management courses.

MDs 1st time license renewal requirements:

  • 1 Credit Hour HIV/AIDS
  • 2 hours in prevention of medical errors

Florida DO requirements:

  • 1st time license renewal: 1 hour HIV/AIDS, professional and medical ethics, controlled substances; two hours domestic violence and prevention of medical errors. Of the remaining hours, at least 20 must be AOA Category 1-A.
  • Second and subsequent renewals: 1 hour medical ethics, and controlled substances; 2 HRS each in domestic violence and prevention of medical errors.
  • Every third renewal: 2 hours of domestic violence.
  • For each license renewal 20 must be AOA Category 1-A, all other hours (including those in the required content categories) can be either AMA PRA Category 1 Credit or AOA Category 1-A credit.

Further information - Florida Medical Association

Georgia

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 40 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Further information - Georgia Composite Medical Board

Hawaii

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 40 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Additional Information:

At the time of the biennial renewal, not later than Jan. 31 in each even-numbered year, each licensee shall have completed the CME requirements for the 2 calendar years preceding the renewal date as follows:

  1. Licensees initially licensed in the first year of the biennium shall have completed 20 category 1 CME hours and 30 category 2 CME hours, or 50 category 1 CME hours;
  2. Licensees initially licensed in the second year of the biennium shall not be required to complete any CME hours;
  3. and 85-13 §16-85-33 All other licensees, except licensees who were issued limited and temporary licenses, shall have completed 40 category 1 CME hours, and 60 category 2 CME hours, or 100 category 1 CME hours.

Further information - DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND CONSUMER AFFAIRS

Idaho

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 40 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Further information - Idaho Board of Medicine

Illinois

Licensing Cycle 3 years

CME Amount Required 150 every 3 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Further information - Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation

Indiana

CME Amount Required None

AHC offers a variety of Subscription Publications as well as Books & Study Guides to meet your professional development needs.

Further information - Indiana Professional Licensing Agency

Iowa

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 40 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Specialty Credit Requirements

The specialty credit requirements listed above are for a period of 5 years.

Further information - Iowa Board of Medicine

Kansas

CME Amount Required 50 annually

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Of the 50 Credit Hours required, 20 must be AMA PRA Category 1.

Further information - Kansas Board of Healing Arts

Kentucky

Licensing Cycle 3 years

CME Amount Required 60 every 3 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Of the 60 Credit Hours required, 30 must be AMA PRA Category 1 or AOA Category 1 by an organization accredited by the Accreditation Council on Continuing Medical Education or the AOA Council on Continuing Medical Education.

Further information - Kentucky Board of Medical Licensure

Louisiana

Licensing Cycle 1 year

CME Amount Required 20 annually

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Further information - Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners

Maine

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 100 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1 or AOA

Specialty Credit Requirements

  • Will require specialty opioid prescribing requirements as of Dec. 31, 2017

Further information - Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine

Maryland

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 50 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Specialty Credit Requirements

  • 1 credit hour on opioid prescribing

Further information - Maryland Board of Physicians

Massachusetts

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 100 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1 or AOA Category 1-A

Specialty Credit Requirements

Note that of the 10 credits total of risk management study, a minimum of four (4) credits must be category 1 credits.

Further information - The Massachusetts Medical Society

Michigan

Licensing Cycle 3 years

CME Amount Required 150 every 3 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1 or AOA Category 1-A

Further information - Michigan State Medical Society

Minnesota

Licensing Cycle 3 years

CME Amount Required 75 every 3 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Further information - Minnesota Board of Medical Practice

Mississippi

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 40 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Specialty Credit Requirements

  • Licensees with active DEA certificates must have five hours of CME related to prescribing medications, with emphasis on controlled substances.

Further information - Mississippi State Board of Medical Licensure

Missouri

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 50 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1 or AOA Category 1-A or AAFP

Further information - Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration

Montana

CME Amount Required None

Further information - Montana Board of Medical Examiners

Nebraska

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 50 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Further information - Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services

Nevada

MD Requirements

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 40 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

DO Requirements

Licensing Cycle 1 year

CME Amount Required 35 every 1 year

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1or Equivalent AOA Category 1-A. At least 10 must be AOA Category 1-A credits.

Specialty Credit Requirements

  • 2 Credit Hours in Medical ethics / pain management / addiction care
  • 20 Credit Hours in scope of your medical specialty
  • 18 Credit Hours in any AMA PRA Category 1

Further information - Nevada Medical Board

New Hampshire

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 100 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Further information - New Hampshire Medical Society

New Jersey

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 100 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Specialty Credit Requirements

Further information - New Jersey State Board of Medical Examiners

New Mexico

Licensing Cycle 3 years

CME Amount Required 75 every 3 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Further information - New Mexico Medical Board

New York

CME Amount Required None

Specialty Credit Recommendation

AHC offers a variety of Subscription Publications as well as Books & Study Guides to meet your continuing education and professional development needs.

Further information - New York Office of the Professions

North Carolina

Licensing Cycle 3 years

CME Amount Required 60 every 3 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Each person licensed to practice medicine in the State of North Carolina shall complete at least 60 hours of Category 1 CME relevant to the physician's current or intended specialty or area of practice every three years.

Specialty Credit Requirements

  • Beginning July 1, 2016, one hour of CME credit must pertain to opioid prescribing.

Further information - North Carolina Medical Board

North Dakota

Licensing Cycle 3 years

CME Amount Required 60 every 3 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Further information - North Dakota Board of Medicine

Ohio

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 100 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1 or AOA Category 1-A

Further information - State Medical Board of Ohio

Oklahoma

MD Requirements

Licensing Cycle 3 years

CME Amount Required 60 every 3 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1, AOA Category 1-A, AAFP, or ACOG Credits

DO Requirements

Licensing Cycle 1 year

CME Amount Required 16 annually

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1, AOA Category 1-A or 1-B, AAFP or ACOG Credits

Specialty Credit Requirements

Further information - Oklahoma Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision

Oregon

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 60 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Specialty Credit Requirements

Further information - Oregon Medical Board

Pennsylvania

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 100 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1 or AOA Category 1

Specialty Credit Requirements

  • 12 Credit Hours risk management or patient safety

    Mandatory topics include:

    • Improving medical records and record keeping
    • Reducing medical errors
    • Professional conduct and ethics - purchase Charting a Course in Medical Ethics on-demand webinar and receive a free issue of Medical Ethics Advisor issue worth up to 2.5 CME
    • Improving communication among physicians and with other health care personnel
    • Communication between physicians and patients>
    • Preventive medicine education
    • Health care quality improvement - satisfy this requirement with Healthcare Risk Management

Further information - Pennsylvania State Board of Medicine

Rhode Island

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 40 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Specialty Credit Requirements

Further information - State of Rhode Island, Department of Health

South Carolina

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 40 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Specialty Credit Requirements

  • Now requires two hours of CME on Schedule II, III, and IV controlled substance monitoring and prescribing.

Further information - South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

South Dakota

CME Amount Required None

Further information - South Dakota Board of Medical and Osteopathic Examiners

Tennessee

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 40 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1, AOA Category 1-A o AAFP

Specialty Credit Requirements

Further information - Tennessee Board of Medical Examiners

Texas

Licensing Cycle 1 year

CME Amount Required 24 annually

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Specialty Credit Requirements

  • 2 Credit Hours must involve the study of medical ethics and/or professional responsibility.

    These credits can be earned through:

    Professional responsibility includes but is not limited to courses in: Risk management, Domestic Abuse; or Child Abuse.

Further information - Texas Medical Board

Utah

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 40 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Further information - Utah Medical Association

Vermont

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 30 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Specialty Credit Requirements

Further information - Vermont Department of Health

Virginia

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 60 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Further information - Virginia Board of Medicine

Washington

Licensing Cycle 4 years

CME Amount Required 200 every 4 years

CME Type(s) Required Category 1 credits (AMA PRA Category 1 accepted)

Further information - Washington State Department of Health

West Virginia

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 50 Credit Hours, 30 of which must be related to the your area or areas of specialty.

CME Type(s) Required Category 1 credits (AMA PRA Category 1 accepted)

All physicians who prescribe controlled substances "shall complete a minimum of three hours of drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances training during the previous reporting period, which three such hours may be provided only by a Board-approved program. Said three hours shall be part of the 50 total hours of continuing education required and not three additional hours."

Further information - West Virginia Board of Medicine

Wisconsin

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CME Amount Required 30 every 2 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Further information - Wisconsin Medical Society

Wyoming

Licensing Cycle 3 years

CME Amount Required 60 every 3 years

CME Type(s) Required AMA PRA Category 1

Further information - Wyoming Board of Medicine

Alabama

CE Amount Required: 24 contact hours every two years.

Additional Requirements: 6 pharmacology hours for APRNs.

Satisfy pharmacology hour requirements with Pharmacotherapeutics for APNs

Alaska

CE Amount Required 30 contact hours every two years

Contact hours should be earned in at least one of the following subject areas:

  • Nursing practice areas and special health care problems
  • Biological, physical, or behavioral sciences
  • Legal or ethical aspects of healthcare
  • Management or administration of healthcare personnel and patient care
  • Other subjects approved by the board that are required as part of a formal nursing program that are more advanced than those completed for original licensure

Arizona

CE Amount Required No requirements

Arkansas

CE Amount Required See below

Active licensed practical nurses, registered nurses and advanced practice nurses must complete the continuing education requirement by one of these methods prior to each bi-annual renewal.

  1. 15 contact hours of appropriately accredited practice-focused activities, OR
  2. Hold a current nationally recognized certification/recertification, OR
  3. Complete a minimum of one college credit hour course in nursing with a grade of C or better during licensure period. Reinstatement from inactive status/late renewals of less than five years must complete 20 contact hours of appropriately accredited activities.

For each renewal, advanced practice nurses with prescriptive authority must complete an additional five contact hours of pharmacotherapeutics related to their specialty certification. Satisfy this requirement with Pharmacotherapeutics for APNs.

California

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CE Amount Required 30 hours every two years.

  • The content of all courses of continuing education must be relevant to the practice of nursing. Learning experiences are expected to enhance the knowledge of the registered nurse at a level above that required for licensure. Courses must be related to the scientific knowledge and/or technical skills required for the practice of nursing, or be related to direct and/or indirect patient/client care.
  • Courses related to the scientific knowledge for the practice of nursing include basic and advanced courses in the physical, social, and behavioral sciences, as well as advanced nursing in general or specialty areas. Content which includes the application of scientific knowledge to patient care in addition to advanced nursing courses may include courses in related areas, e.g. human sexuality; death, dying, and grief; foreign languages (conversational); therapeutic interpersonal relationship skills; pharmacology; and those related to specialty areas of nursing practice.
  • Courses in nursing administration, management, education, research or other functional areas of nursing relating to indirect patient/client care would be acceptable.

Registered nurses, in the State of California, are required by law to complete thirty (30) hours of continuing education every two years. AHC offers a variety of Subscription Publications as well as Books & Study Guides to meet your continuing professional education needs.

Colorado

CE Amount Required No requirements

Connecticut

CE Amount Required No requirements

Delaware

CE Amount Required
Registered Nurses: 30 contact hours every 2 years
Practical Nurses: 24 contact hours every 2 years

At least 3 contact hours must be in the area of substance abuse.

District of Columbia

CE Amount Required 24 Contact Hours every 2 years

Specialty Credit Requirements

Florida

CE Amount Required 24 hours every 2 years

All Florida-licensed LPNs, RNs, CNSs and ARNPs are now in a 24-month renewal cycle and must complete 24 hours of appropriate continuing education during each renewal period. The 24 hours must include:

  • Two (2) hours on Prevention of Medical Errors, and
  • Two (2) hours in Laws and Rules that govern the practice of Nursing (Beginning with the biennium ending in 2015).
  • HIV/AIDS is now a one-time, 1-hour CE requirement to be completed prior to the first renewal.
  • Domestic Violence (DV) CE is now a 2-hour requirement every third renewal. Since Domestic Violence (DV) is a 2-hour requirement, the licensee will have 26 hours of CE during the renewal period when DV is taken. For example, if you renew your license on July 31, 2008 and completed DV during the 2006-2008 licensure cycle, you are required to complete the Domestic Violence CE before the July 31, 2014 renewal.

Georgia

CE Amount Required
RNs: 30 every 2 years
LPNs: 20 hours every 2 years

Effective January 31, 2016, all registered nurses will be required to complete continuing education competency requirements as a condition of licensure renewal. Georgia law provides five options from which licensees may choose in order to satisfy the continuing competency requirements. Licensees who renew in January 2016 must satisfy one of the options between February 1, 2014 and January 31, 2016. View the list of options that may be used to satisfy the renewal requirements.

Effective March 31, 2017, all licensed practical nurses will be required to complete twenty (20) hours of continuing education as a condition of licensure renewal. Licensees who renew in March 2017 must satisfy one of the options between April 1, 2015 and March 31, 2017. View the list of options that may be used to satisfy the renewal requirements.

 

Hawaii

CE Amount Required No requirement

Idaho

CE Amount Required No requirement

Illinois

Registered nurses are required to complete 20 hours of Continuing Education per pre-renewal period. The pre-renewal period is the twenty-four (24) months preceding the expiration date of the license.

APNs that have Schedule II included in their Controlled Substances Registration are required to annually complete 5 hours of continuing education in pharmacology. Satisfy this requirement with Pharmacotherapeutics for APNs.

Indiana

CE Amount Required No requirement

Iowa

For renewal of a three year license, the requirement is 36 contact hours or 3.6 CEUs.

For renewal of a license that has been issued for less than three years, the requirement is 24 contact hours or 2.4 CEUs. This applies to the first renewal after any one of the following:

  • Initial Iowa licensure by examination
  • Initial Iowa licensure by endorsement from another state
  • Reactivation from an inactive status

Kansas

CE Amount Required 1. 30 contact hours every three years

Kentucky

CE Amount Required 14 contact hours every two years

Advanced practice registered nurses are required to earn 5 contact hours of approved continuing education in pharmacology each licensure period. Satisfy this requirement with Pharmacotherapeutics for APNs.

Louisiana

CE Amount Required

  1. Full time nurses: 5 contact hours every year
  2. Part-time nurses: 10 contact hours every year
  3. Practiced nursing less than 160 hours during the calendar year: 15 contact hours per year