CME State Map Nurses

Continuing Medical Education requirements vary for nurses from state to state. Click on your state below to see how we can help you meet your requirements.

 

Alabama

CE Amount Required: 24 contact hours every two years.

Additional Requirements: 6 pharmacology hours for APRNs.

Satisfy pharmacology hour requirements with Pharmacotherapeutics for APNs

Alaska

CE Amount Required 30 contact hours every two years

Contact hours should be earned in at least one of the following subject areas:

  • Nursing practice areas and special health care problems
  • Biological, physical, or behavioral sciences
  • Legal or ethical aspects of healthcare
  • Management or administration of healthcare personnel and patient care
  • Other subjects approved by the board that are required as part of a formal nursing program that are more advanced than those completed for original licensure

Arizona

CE Amount Required No requirements

Arkansas

CE Amount Required See below

Active licensed practical nurses, registered nurses and advanced practice nurses must complete the continuing education requirement by one of these methods prior to each bi-annual renewal.

  1. 15 contact hours of appropriately accredited practice-focused activities, OR
  2. Hold a current nationally recognized certification/recertification, OR
  3. Complete a minimum of one college credit hour course in nursing with a grade of C or better during licensure period. Reinstatement from inactive status/late renewals of less than five years must complete 20 contact hours of appropriately accredited activities.

For each renewal, advanced practice nurses with prescriptive authority must complete an additional five contact hours of pharmacotherapeutics related to their specialty certification. Satisfy this requirement with Pharmacotherapeutics for APNs.

California

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CE Amount Required 30 hours every two years.

  • The content of all courses of continuing education must be relevant to the practice of nursing. Learning experiences are expected to enhance the knowledge of the registered nurse at a level above that required for licensure. Courses must be related to the scientific knowledge and/or technical skills required for the practice of nursing, or be related to direct and/or indirect patient/client care.
  • Courses related to the scientific knowledge for the practice of nursing include basic and advanced courses in the physical, social, and behavioral sciences, as well as advanced nursing in general or specialty areas. Content which includes the application of scientific knowledge to patient care in addition to advanced nursing courses may include courses in related areas, e.g. human sexuality; death, dying, and grief; foreign languages (conversational); therapeutic interpersonal relationship skills; pharmacology; and those related to specialty areas of nursing practice.
  • Courses in nursing administration, management, education, research or other functional areas of nursing relating to indirect patient/client care would be acceptable.

Registered nurses, in the State of California, are required by law to complete thirty (30) hours of continuing education every two years. AHC offers a variety of Subscription Publications as well as Books & Study Guides to meet your continuing professional education needs.

Colorado

CE Amount Required No requirements

Connecticut

CE Amount Required No requirements

Delaware

CE Amount Required
Registered Nurses: 30 contact hours every 2 years
Practical Nurses: 24 contact hours every 2 years

At least 3 contact hours must be in the area of substance abuse.

District of Columbia

CE Amount Required 24 Contact Hours every 2 years

Specialty Credit Requirements

Florida

CE Amount Required 24 hours every 2 years

All Florida-licensed LPNs, RNs, CNSs and ARNPs are now in a 24-month renewal cycle and must complete 24 hours of appropriate continuing education during each renewal period. The 24 hours must include:

  • Two (2) hours on Prevention of Medical Errors, and
  • Two (2) hours in Laws and Rules that govern the practice of Nursing (Beginning with the biennium ending in 2015).
  • HIV/AIDS is now a one-time, 1-hour CE requirement to be completed prior to the first renewal.
  • Domestic Violence (DV) CE is now a 2-hour requirement every third renewal. Since Domestic Violence (DV) is a 2-hour requirement, the licensee will have 26 hours of CE during the renewal period when DV is taken. For example, if you renew your license on July 31, 2008 and completed DV during the 2006-2008 licensure cycle, you are required to complete the Domestic Violence CE before the July 31, 2014 renewal.

Georgia

CE Amount Required
RNs: 30 every 2 years
LPNs: 20 hours every 2 years

Effective January 31, 2016, all registered nurses will be required to complete continuing education competency requirements as a condition of licensure renewal. Georgia law provides five options from which licensees may choose in order to satisfy the continuing competency requirements. Licensees who renew in January 2016 must satisfy one of the options between February 1, 2014 and January 31, 2016. View the list of options that may be used to satisfy the renewal requirements.

Effective March 31, 2017, all licensed practical nurses will be required to complete twenty (20) hours of continuing education as a condition of licensure renewal. Licensees who renew in March 2017 must satisfy one of the options between April 1, 2015 and March 31, 2017. View the list of options that may be used to satisfy the renewal requirements.

 

Hawaii

CE Amount Required No requirement

Idaho

CE Amount Required No requirement

Illinois

Registered nurses are required to complete 20 hours of Continuing Education per pre-renewal period. The pre-renewal period is the twenty-four (24) months preceding the expiration date of the license.

APNs that have Schedule II included in their Controlled Substances Registration are required to annually complete 5 hours of continuing education in pharmacology. Satisfy this requirement with Pharmacotherapeutics for APNs.

Indiana

CE Amount Required No requirement

Iowa

For renewal of a three year license, the requirement is 36 contact hours or 3.6 CEUs.

For renewal of a license that has been issued for less than three years, the requirement is 24 contact hours or 2.4 CEUs. This applies to the first renewal after any one of the following:

  • Initial Iowa licensure by examination
  • Initial Iowa licensure by endorsement from another state
  • Reactivation from an inactive status

Kansas

CE Amount Required 1. 30 contact hours every three years

Kentucky

CE Amount Required 14 contact hours every two years

Advanced practice registered nurses are required to earn 5 contact hours of approved continuing education in pharmacology each licensure period. Satisfy this requirement with Pharmacotherapeutics for APNs.

Louisiana

CE Amount Required

  1. Full time nurses: 5 contact hours every year
  2. Part-time nurses: 10 contact hours every year
  3. Practiced nursing less than 160 hours during the calendar year: 15 contact hours per year

Maine

CE Amount Required No requirement

Maryland

CE Amount Required No requirement

Massachusetts

CE Amount Required 15 contact hours every 2 years.

Michigan

Licensing Cycle 25 contact hours in the 2 years an application for renewal or relicensure.

An applicant for license renewal shall complete at least one (1) continuing education contact hour in pain and pain symptom management in each renewal period. Continuing education contact hours in pain and pain symptom management may include, but are not limited to, courses in behavior management, psychology of pain, pharmacology, behavior modification, stress management, clinical applications, and drug interventions. Satisfy this requirement with Pharmacotherapeutics for APNs.

Minnesota

Licensing Cycle
RNs need 24 contact hours every two years.
LPNs need 12 contact hours every two years.

Mississippi

CE Amount Required 20 contact hours every two years.

Missouri

CE Amount Required No requirement

Montana

Practical nurses must complete a minimum of 24 contact hours during the two-year renewal period;

Registered nurses must complete a minimum of 24 contact hours during the two-year renewal period; and

APRNs must complete a minimum of 24 contact hours during the two-year renewal period

Nebraska

RNs and LPNs need 20 contact hours every two years.

APRNs must have 40 contact hours in their clinical specialty area within the 2 years preceding the renewal period; 10 of the 40 contact hours must be in pharmacotherapeutics. Satisfy this requirement with Pharmacotherapeutics for APNs.

Nevada

CE Amount Required 30 contact hours every two years.

New Hampshire

CE Amount Required 30 contact hours every two years.

New Jersey

CE Amount Required 30 every 2 years

New Mexico

CE Amount Required

RNs and LPNs need 30 contact hours every two years.

Certified nurse practitioners and Clinical Nurse Specialists must complete 50 hours of approved CE each renewal. Thirty (30) contact hours shall meet the requirements for licensure as an RN and an additional twenty (20) contact hours , fifteen (15) of which must be pharmacology and five (5) in the area of practice. Satisfy this requirement with Pharmacotherapeutics for APNs.

New York

CE Amount Required

RNs are required to complete:

  1. 3 contact hours infection control every 4 years - Satisfy this requirement with Hospital Infection Control & Prevention.
  2. 2 contact hours child abuse (one time requirement for initial license)

LPNs are required to complete:

  1. 3 contact hours infection control every 4 years - Satisfy this requirement with Hospital Infection Control & Prevention.

AHC offers a variety of Subscription Publications as well as Books & Study Guides to meet your continuing education and professional development needs.

North Carolina

CE Amount Required (for RNs & LPNs). One of the following:

  1. 15 contact hours of continued education and 640 hours of active practice within previous 2 years
  2. National certification or re-certification by a national credentialing body recognized by the Board
  3. 30 contact hours of continued education
  4. Completion of a Board approved refresher course
  5. Completion of a minimum of two semester hours of post-licensure academic education related to nursing practice
  6. 15 contact hours of continued education and completion of a nursing project as principal investigator or co-investigator to include statement of problem, project objectives, methods, date of completion and summary of findings
  7. 15 contact hours of continued education and authoring or co-authoring a nursing-related article, paper, book or book chapter
  8. 15 contact hours of continued education and developing and conducting a nursing continuing education presentation or presentations totaling a minimum of five contact hours, including program brochure or course syllabi, objectives, date and location of presentation, and approximate number of attendees

Each person licensed to practice medicine in the State of North Carolina shall complete at least 60 hours of Category 1 CME relevant to the physician's current or intended specialty or area of practice every three years.

North Dakota

CE Amount Required 12 contact hours every two years.

Ohio

CE Amount Required 24 contact hours every two years.

Certificate To Prescribe holders must complete additional CE in advanced pharmacology. Twelve (12) contact hours are required if the CTP has been held for a full renewal period or six (6) contact hours if the CTP has been held for less than a full renewal period. Satisfy this requirement with Pharmacotherapeutics for APNs.

Oklahoma

CE Amount Required 24 contact hours every two years.

If you are a CNP, CNM or CNS, a minimum of 15 contact hours or one academic credit hour is required for renewal. This continuing education or academic credit must be directly related to pharmacotherapeutics, clinical application and use of pharmacological agents in the prevention of illness, and in the restoration and maintenance of health, in a program beyond basic registered nurse preparation, applicable to your scope of practice. Satisfy this requirement with Pharmacotherapeutics for APNs.

Oregon

Seven hours of pain management-related CE. One hour must be a course to be provided by the Oregon Pain Management Commission (click here to go to the Pain Commission CE course).

The remaining six hours can be your choice of pain management topics. (click here to go to the Pain Commission CE course).

Both CME and CE accredited pain management courses will fulfill the pain management CE requirement. Fulfill this requirement with “Strategies to Improve Opioid Prescribing” in Emergency Medicine Reports.

Pennsylvania

CE Amount Required 30 hours of continuing education approved by the Board during the biennial renewal period immediately preceding the application for renewal.

Rhode Island

CE Amount Required 10 continuing education hours during every two-year licensing cycle.

Starting 2017 two of those hours must be about substance abuse.

South Carolina

CE Amount Required 30 every 2 years

South Dakota

CE Amount Required No requirements

Tennessee

CE Amount Required No requirements

Texas

Nursing Jurisprudence and Nursing Ethics. All licensed vocational nurses (LVNs), registered nurses (RNs), and advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) are required to complete at least two contact hours of CNE in nursing jurisprudence and ethics prior to the end of each third two-year licensure renewal cycle for licensure cycles beginning on or after January 1, 2014. The course is required to contain information related to the Texas Nursing Practice Act, Texas BON Rules, Texas BON Position Statements, principles of nursing ethics, and professional boundaries [Board Rule 216.3(g)]..

Older Adult or Geriatric Care. Any LVN, RN, or APRN whose practice includes the older adult or geriatric population is required to complete at least two contact hours in every licensure cycle beginning on or after January 1, 2014 [Board Rule 216.3(h)]. The content must include information relating to elder abuse, age related memory changes and disease processes, including chronic conditions, and end of life issues [Board Rule 216.3(h)(1)].

Forensic Evidence Collection CNE. Effective September 1, 2013, nurses who perform a forensic exam on a sexual assault survivor must have completed basic forensic evidence collection training, or the equivalent education, prior to performing the examination [Board Rule 216.3(d)(1)]. This is a one-time requirement.

Utah

Licensing Cycle 2 years

CE Amount Required

RNs and LPNs: Require one of the following:

  • 400 hours of licensed practice, or
  • 200 hours of licensed practice plus 15 contact hours, or
  • 30 contact hours every two year licensing period.

APRNs:

  • Must maintain national certification, and
  • Must be currently certified in specialty area, or
  • Must complete 30 hours of CE (if licensed prior to 7/1/92) and 400 hours of practice each licensing period.

Vermont

CE Amount Required No requirements

Virginia

RNs & LPNs must complete at least one of the following:

  • Current specialty certification by a national certifying organization, as defined in 18VAC90-20-10.
  • Completion of a minimum of three credit hours of post-licensure academic education relevant to nursing practice, offered by a regionally-accredited college or university.
  • A board-approved refresher course in nursing.
  • Completion of nursing-related, evidence-based practice project or research study.
  • Completion of publication as the author or co-author during a renewal cycle.
  • Teaching a nursing-related course resulting in no less than three semester hours of college credit or specialty certification.
  • Teaching nursing-related continuing education courses for up to 30 contact hours.
  • 15 contact hours of workshops, seminars, conferences or courses relevant to the practice of nursing and 640 hours of active practice as a nurse.
  • 30 contact hours of workshops, seminars, conferences or courses relevant to the practice of nursing.

Washington

CE Amount Required 1. Registered Nurses and Licensed Practical Nurses must maintain documentation/verification of compliance illustrating at least 531 hours of active practice and 45 hours of continuing education every three years.

West Virginia

CE Amount Required 1. 12 nursing contact hours annually

Nurses must complete at least 1 hour of drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances.

Wisconsin

CE Amount Required No requirements

Wyoming

CE Amount Required No requirements